APC Members defect to ADC in Ekiti

The political fortune of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ekiti State has further dwindled as scores of its strong members converged in Ado-Ekiti, the state capital on Wednesday, to declare loyalty for the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

Deputy National Chairman of the ADC, Dr Bamidele Ajadi, who was on hand to receive the defecting politicians, hailed the move and assured them better days of mutual relationship, devoid of greed and aggrandisement.

According to Ajadi, his party, the ADC, has resolved to treat the Ekiti new entrants with honest compassion to ensure that they provide the route for the people to cross to the Oke Ayoba Government office, come June this year.

The ADC was formed, first as Alliance for Democratic Change in 2005 but was renamed African Democratic Congress in 2006 at the point of registration by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The party made a significant impact in the south western Nigeria in 2015 when it cleared five House of Representatives seats in Oyo State.

Most of the decampees are top-notched members of the APC in Ekiti State comprised majorly members of the South West Agenda for Asiwaju 2023 (SWAGA), a political pressure group which has been agitating for the emergence of APC Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, as the presidential choice for 2023.

The former APC members across the 16 local councils of the State, said they were leaving the APC for ADC as a result of leadership ineptitudes and a wanton resolve to dwarf the party by some key party leaders, through applications of lethal therapies in resolving internal crises.

The gathering in Ado Ekiti, represent the state and local councils’ officials in the new party.

They expressed that the lingering political hopelessness in the state and the gloomy chances for the APC to win coming elections, was fulcrum of their decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.