INEC announces Akeredolu as winner of Ondo Governorship election

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has announced the incumbent Ondo state governor, Rotimi Akeredolu as the winner of the just concluded election.

Results from 16 Local Governments have shown that Ondo State Governor and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Rotimi Akeredolu, has maintained the lead in Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

The results were announced by the Local Government collation officers at the Independent National Electoral Commission’s collation centre in Akure early Sunday morning.

Akeredolu won in 13 LGAs while the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Eyitayo Jegede, won three.

The Deputy Governor and Zenith Labour Party candidate, Agboola Ajayi, has not won any.

Akeredolu has so far garnered 252,880 votes.

Jegede is trailing with 179,623 votes.

Ajayi is in a distant third with 73,257 votes.

A breakdown of the figures shows that the APC candidate is leading his closest rival, Jegede, with 59,171 votes.

The PUNCH reports that 17 political parties are participating in the governorship election held in 18 local governments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.