NUC releases list of 198 approved universities

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has released a list of approved federal, state, and private universities in Nigeria.

This is contained in its October bulletin which chronicled the commission’s activities.

NUC had promised to keep Nigerians abreast of approved universities so that they do not fall for scammers and other unscrupulous elements.

The country has a number of illegal tertiary institutions swindling uninformed citizens with the claim of running accredited courses.

In the breakdown, there are currently 45 federal, 54 state and 99 private universities, for a total of 198.

Meanwhile, NUC Executive Secretary, Prof Abubakar Rasheed, has met with Vice-Chancellors and Sustainable Procurement, Environment and Social Standards Enhancement (SPESSE) Centre Leaders.

The World Bank project has a five-year span with an $80million budget. It seeks to institutionalise the procurement, environmental and social standards in Nigeria.

While 37.5 percent has been earmarked for technical assistance, 62.5 percent would be disbursed based on performance using Disbursement Link Indicators (DLI).

Six tertiary institutions will run courses for the project that will benefit 25,240 candidates.

They are the University of Lagos, Federal University of Technology, Owerri, University of Benin, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi, and Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.