Wizkid clinches 10 nominations in Headies Awards 2022

Multiple award-winning singer, Ayo Balogun, professionally known as Wizkid has been nominated in 10 award categories for The Headies 2022.

The organisers of the award announced the nominees for its latest edition as scheduled at 12 pm on Tuesday. Wizkid is up in top categories including ‘Best Recording of the Year’ and ‘Best R&B Single.’

Also making the list of nominees is Portable who is up in the ‘Rookie of the Year’ and ‘Best Street Hop Artiste’ categories.

Don Jazzy is to vie for ‘Humanitarian Award of the Year’ while Rick Hassani is nominated for ‘Best Vocal Performance (Male)’ and ‘Best R&B Album’ categories.

Ayra Starr, BNXN, Lojay, Ruger, and Zinoleesky are up for The Headies 2022 Next Rated category.

Burna Boy, Olamide and Davido also got nominated for the awards.

In March, Ayo Animashaun, founder of the Headies, announced that the 2022 edition would be held outside the country. The edition, which is the 15th of its kind, is scheduled to hold on September 4, 2022 in Atlanta, Georgia.

Here is the full list of nominations:

Rookie of the Year






Best Recording of The Year

Celebrate Me – Patoranking

Essence – Wizkid Ft Tems

Jpy – Falana

Loving Is Harder – Johnny Drille

Meji Meji – Brymo

Somebody’s Son – Tiwa Savage Ft Brandy

Producer of the Year

Beats By Jayy – Golden (A-Q)

Blaise Beatz – Sinner (Adekunle Gold Feat. Lucky Daye)

Niphkeys – Feel Good (Mohbad)

P Priime – Ozumba Mbadiwe (Reekado Banks)

Pheelz – High (Adekunle Gold Feat. Davido)

Best R&B single

Baby Riddim – Fave

Beggie Beggie – Ayra Starr Feat. Ckay

Essence – Wizkid Feat. Tems

Running (To You) – Chike Feat. Simi

Promise – Niniola

Sinner – Adekunle Gold Feat. Luck Daye

Songwriter of The Year

Adekunle Gold – Sinner

Ajebo Hustlers – Loyalty

Brymo – Meji Meji

Falana – Joy

Fireboy Dml – Peru

Omah Lay – Understand

Best Alternative Song

Doings – Flavour

Free Your Mind – Made Kuti

Gonto – Ibejii

Hustle – Basketmouth, The Cavemen, Bez, Dice Ailes

Meji Meji – Brymo

Selense – The Cavemen

Best Vocal Performance (Female)

Ayra Starr – “Toxic”

Liya – “Alari”

Niniola – “6th Heaven”

Simi – “Running (To You)”

Tems – “Essence”

Waje – “Last Time”

Best Vocal Performance (Male)

Brymo – Meji Meji

Johnny Drille – Loving Is Harder

Oxlade – Ojuju

Ric Hassani – When I’m Gone

Tay Iwar – Peaking

Best Music Video

Champion – (Fireboy Dml Feat. D Smoke) Directed By Tg Omori

Ginger– (Wizkid Feat. Burna Boy) Directed By Meji Alabi

Roj – (Chike) Directed By Pink

Rain – (Yemi Alade Feat. Mzansi Youth Choir) Directed By Ovie Etseyatse

“Bling” – (Blaqbonez Feat. Amaarae & Bnxn) Directed By Tg Omori

“Running” – (Ladipoe Feat. Fireboy Dml) Directed By Director K

Best Collaboration

Beggie Beggie– Ayra Starr Feat. Ckay

Bling – Blaqbonez Feat. Amaarae & Bnxn

Early Momo – Vector Feat. Goodgirl LA

Essence – Wizkid Feat. Tems

Feeling – Ladipoe Feat. Bnxn

Running (To You) – Chike Feat. Simi

Best Street-Hop Artiste

Bella Shmurda – “Cash App” Feat. Zlatan & Lincoln

Rexxie & Mohbad – “Kpk”

Mohbad – “Feel Good”

Naira Marley – “Koleyewon”

Nektunez & Goya Menor – “Ameno Amapiano (Remix)”

Poco Lee, Portable & Olamide – “Zazoo Zehh”

Best Afrobeats Single of the Year

Bloody Samaritan – Ayra Starr

Bounce– Ruger

High – Adekunle Gold Feat. Davido

Monalisa – Lojay & Sarz

Ozumba Mbadiwe – Reekado Banks

“Peru” – Fireboy Dml

Headies’ Viewer’s Choice

Ayra Starr – Bloody Samaritan

Fireboy – Peru ( @Fireboydml )

Joeboy – Sip

Lojay & Sarz – Monalisa

Nektunez & Goya Menor – Ameno Amapiano (Remix)

Olamide Feat. Omah Lay – Infinity

Rema – Soundgasm

Wizkid Feat. Tems – Essence

Best West African Artiste of the Year

Amaarae (Ghana)

Angelique Kidjo (Benin)

Aya Nakamura (Mali)

Gyakie (Ghana)

Kidi (Ghana)

Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)

Best East African Artiste of The Year

Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)

Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Harmonize (Tanzania)

Meddy (Rwanda)

Nikita Kering (Kenya)

Zuchu (Tanzania)

Best North African Artiste of The Year

Emel Mathlouthi (Tunisia)

Elgrandetoto (Morocco)

Latifa (Tunisia)

Manal (Morocco)

Muhamad Ramadan (Egypt)

Soolking (Algeria)

Best Southern African Artiste f The Year

Black Coffee (South Africa)

Dj Tarico (Mozambique)

Elaine (South Africa)

Focalistic (South Africa)

Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)

Sha Sha (Zimbabwe)

Best Afrobeats Album

19 And Dangerous – Ayra Starr

A Better Time– Davido

Barnabas – Kizz Daniel

Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition)” – Wizkid

Kpos Lifestyle – Ajebo Hustlers

Wondaland – Teni

Best Reggae & Dancehall Album

Gratitude– Timaya

Love Is War – Prettyboy D-O

Rainbow Riddim – Shank

Three – Patoranking

Yaadman Kingsize – Yung L

Best R&B Album

Before We Fall Asleep – Johnny Drille

If Orange Was A Place – Tems

Love Deep High Life– Omawumi

Rising – Falana

The Prince I Became – Ric Hassani

Water And Garri – Tiwa Savage

Best Alternative Album

9: Esan– Brymo

Intermission – Ibejii

Legacy +– Femi Kuti & Made Kuti

Love And Highlife – The Cavemen

P.S. Thank You For Waiting – Wavy The Creator

Yabasi – Basketmouth

Best Rap Album

Carpe Diem – Olamide

Clone Wars Vol. 5 – The Algorhythm” – Show Dem Camp

Golden – A-Q

Mafia Culture, Vol. 2.0 – Idowest

Providence – Ladipoe

Sex Over Love – Blaqbonez

Album of The Year

9: Esan – Brymo

19 & Dangerous – Ayra Starr

Carpe Diem – Olamide

Legacy + – Femi Kuti & Made Kuti

Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition) – Wizkid

Yabasi – Basketmouth

Song of The Year

Celebrate Me – Patoranking

Doings – Flavour Feat. Phyno

Essence – Wizkid Feat. Tems

High– Adekunle Gold Feat. Davido

Monalisa – Lojay & Sarz

“Peru” – Fireboy Dml

Best Female Artiste



Tiwa Savage



Best Male Artiste

Adekunle Gold

Burna Boy





Next Rated

Ayra Starr





African Artiste of The Year

Black Coffee (Nigeria)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Davido (Nigeria)

Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)

Soolking (Algeria)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Aya Nakamura (Mali )

Lyricist on the Roll

A-Q – The Last Cypher

Blaqbonez – The Last Cypher

Jesse Jagz – Vipers

Ladipoe – Providence

Payper Corleone – In Don We Trust

Vector – Crown of Clay

Humanitarian Award of The Year

2face Idibia



Don Jazzy

East Central African Artiste Of The Year

Calema (Sao Tome & Principe)

Blanche Bailly (Cameroon)

Dadju (Dr Congo)

Fally Ipupa (Dr Congo)

Innoss’b (Dr Congo)

Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)

Best Rap Single

Breathe – A-Q Feat Chike

Crown Of Clay – Vector & Mi Abaga Feat. Pheelz

Early Momo – Vector Feat. Goodgirl LA

Feeling – Ladipoe Feat. Bnxn

Tycoon – Show Dem Camp – Feat. Reminisce & Mojo

Loading – Olamide Feat Bad Boy Timz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *