AMVCA 10: Africa Magic announces nominees, voting now open

As anticipation builds for the 10th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards, organizers have announced the nominees for this year’s award categories.

The nominee announcement aired on Sunday, 24th March 2024, on all Africa Magic channels, stirring excitement among fans across the continent. The prestigious awards ceremony, celebrating excellence in African film and television, is slated to take place on the 10th and 11th of May 2024.

Dr Busola Tejumola, Executive Head of Content and Channels, West Africa, MultiChoice said, “We are happy to unveil the nominees for the 10th edition of the prestigious Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards. The quality of entries received was simply outstanding and the jury had their work cut out for them in shortlisting the nominees. This year’s lineup is exceptional, reflecting the diversity and creativity prevalent in African cinema and television and we can’t wait to celebrate them.

The organisers of the awards had earlier called for entries (from Jan 15– Feb 14, 2024), inviting filmmakers from across Africa, whose productions had been publicly exhibited or broadcast from Dec. 1, 2022, till Dec. 31, 2023, to put in their work for possible nominations.

The performance awards have undergone some streamlining this year; they now fall under the categories of Best Actor and Best Actress in a leading or supporting role. There are now 27 categories, 16 non-voting, 9 audience voting categories, and 2 recognition awards – Lifetime Achievement and Trailblazer Awards. The non-voting categories will be decided by the AMVCA panel of judges headed by ace filmmaker, Femi Odugbemi.

The voting window is open from now until April 28th, 2024, providing fans with an opportunity to support and honor the outstanding talent showcased throughout the year. You can vote on the Africa Magic website.

The 10th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards is brought to viewers by Africa Magic in partnership with Amstel Malta as lead sponsor. Other sponsors include Pepsi, Promasidor and Martell, as well as Tecno, Verve, QuickTeller, Tiger Beer, MTN and Indomie. The award show is scheduled for the 11th of May with a live broadcast across all Africa Magic Channels on DStv and GOtv.

Nominees List

Best Digital Content

National Treasure – Adebola Adeyela (Lizzy Jay)

Medical Negligence and Copyright Infringement – Isaac Ayomide Olayiwola (Layi Wasabi)

Hello Neighbour – Elozonam Ogbolu, Lina idoko and Jemima Osunde

The Boyfriend – Maryam Apaokagi-Greene


Best Indigenous Language Film (West Africa)

Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)

Jagun Jagun (Femi Adebayo)

Ijogbon (Kunle Afolayan)

Orisa (Odunlade Adekola)

Nana Akoto (Kwabena Gyansah)

Best Indigenous Language (East Africa)

Where The River Divides

Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)




Best Indigenous Language (South Africa)

Service To Heart

Uncle Limbani

Motshameko O Kotsi

Best Multichoice Talent Factory Movie


Her Dark Past

Somewhere in Kole

Full Time Husband

The 11th Commandment


Best Scripted M-Net Original

Slum King

Half Open Window


The Passenger

Magic Room

Best Unscripted M-Net Original

What Will People Say

The Irabors’ Forever After

Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)

Date My Family Zambia

Royal Qlique (Season 2)

Best Indigenous M-Net Original

The Passenger

Nana Akoto


Irora Iya

Love Transfusion (Kiapo Cha Damu)

Best Short Film

T’egbon T’aburo

Broken Mask

Eighteenth Year

Man and Masquerades

A Place Called Forward

Best Supporting Actor

Alexx Ekubo (Afamefuna)

Demola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)

Ibrahim Yekini (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior)

Gregory Ojefua (This is Life)

Timini Egbuson (A Tribe Called Judah)

Levi Chikere (Blood Vessel)

Ropo Ewenla (Over the Bridge)

Best Supporting Actress

Joke Silva (Over the Bridge)

Fathia Williams (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)

Bimbo Akintola (The Black Book)

Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life)

Eliane Umuhire (Omen)

Tana Adelana (Ijogbon – Chaos)

Ejiro Onojaife (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

Best Lead Actor

Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)

Stan Nze (Afamefuna)

Marc Zinga (Omen)

Gideon Okeke (Egun)

David Ezekiel (Blood Vessel)

Richard Mofe Damijo (The Black Book)

Adedimeji Lateef (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)

Gabriel Afolayan (This is Lagos)

Best Lead Actress

Segilola Ogidan (Over The Bridge)

Lucie Debay (Omen)

Omowunmi Dada (Asiri Ade)

Ireti Doyle (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

Adaobi Dibor (Blood Vessel)

Evelyne Ily (Mami Wata)

Kehinde Bankole (Adire)

Funke Akindele (A Tribe Called Judah)

Best Cinematography

Mami Wata

Blood Vessel

Over The Bridge

Breath of Life

Jagun Jagun (The Warrior)

Ijogbon (Chaos)


Best Editing

Chuka Ejorh And Onyekachi Banjo

Holmes Awa

Alex Kamau And Victor Obok

Dayo Nathaniel

Antonio Ribeiro

Nathan Delannoy

Best Art Direction

Blood Vessel (Victor Akpan)

Over The Bridge (Abisola Omolade)

Breath of Life (Okechukwu Frost Nwankwo, Kelechi Odu)

The Black Book (Pat Nebo and Chima Temple)

Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Tunji Afolayan)

Mami Wata (C.J Fiery Obasi)

Omen (Eve Martin)

Best Costume Design

Over The Bridge – Demola Adeyemi

Fumilayo Ransome – Kuti (Bolanle Austen- Peters, Ituen Basi, Folake Coker, Clement Effanga)

Jagun Jagun (Lola Awe)

Mami Wata (Bunmi Demilola Fashina)

A Tribe Called Judah (Feyisayo Oyebisi)

Best Writing TV series

Skinny Girls in Transit (s7)

Bunmi Ajakaiye

Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi

Abdul Tijani- Ahmed

Wura (s2)

Jeffery David Musa

Olumide Kuti

Esther Oyiza Kokori

Visa On Arrival

Bovi Ugboma

MTV Shuga Naija


Staying Alive Foundation


Mona Ombogo

Masquerades of Aniedo

Timendo Aghahowa

Motunde Akiode

Slum King

Donald Tombia

Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi

Fatimah Binta Gimsay

Xavier Ighordje

Best Writing Movie

Breathe Of Life – BB Sasore

Over The Bridge – Tosin Otudeko

Fumilayo Ransome Kuti – Tunde Babalola

Jagun Jagun – Adebayo Tijani

Afamefuna – Anyanwu Sandra Adaora

ATCJ – Funke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh & Akinlabi Ishola

Mami Wata – CJ Obasi

Best Documentary

Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)

Lobola – A Bride’s True Price?

Empalikino (Forgiveness)

The Water Manifesto: Osun (Water For Gold)

Sowing Hope

Best Series (Scripted)


Wura (s2)

Slum King



Best Series (Unscripted)

Lol Naija (s1)

Nightlife in Lasgidi

The Real Housewives of Lagos

Gh Queens (s2)

Mutale Mwanza Unscripted (s1)

Best Director

Moses Inwang (Blood Vessel)

Adebayo Tijani & Tope Adebayo (Jagun Jagun)

BB Sasore (Breath of Life)

Johnscott Enah (Half Heaven)

  1. J. Fiery Obasi ( Mami Wata)

Kayode Kasum (Afamefuna)

Tolu Ajayi (Over The Bridge)

Best Movie

Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti

Breath of Life

Over The Bridge

Blood Vessel

A Tribe Called Judah

The Black Book

Mami Wata

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.