Oshiomhole dumps senate bid, declares for presidency

The former national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Adams Oshiomhole, has dumped his Senatorial ambition.

Recall that the former Edo governor, during his 70th birthday party at his country home, Iyamoh, had announced his intention to contest for a seat in the senate.

Oshiomhole noted that he would contest for the Edo North Senatorial seat currently being occupied by Senator Francis Alimikhena.

But in a twist on Friday, the former Labour leader, however, disclosed his intention to take over from President Muhammadu Buhari at the end of his tenure in 2023.

His sudden interest in the Presidential race is coming as a shock to many.

The formal declaration by Adams Oshiomhole to contest the 2023 presidential election, was earlier billed to hold by 3 pm on Friday at the Cyprian Ekwensi Center for Arts and Culture, Abuja.

But a statement by his media aide, Victor Oshioke, said a new date for the declaration will be communicated appropriately.

He said: “The proposed formal declaration of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole for the office of President, Federal Republic of Nigeria under the platform of APC, which was advertised to hold today, April 29th, 2022, at the Cyprian Ekwensi Center for Arts and Culture, Abuja, is hereby postponed.

“The new date for the event will be communicated appropriately.

“We are deeply sorry for the inconveniences this unavoidable postponement may have caused numerous supporters of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole across the country.”

Oshiomhole’s campaign will be built around the slogan “Restructure The Change 2023.”

However, by entering the APC presidential race, Oshiomhole will be pitted against a crowded field of contenders.

Among other aspirants for the APC Presidential race include, former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo; Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Minister of Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige; former Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha; former Abia State Governor, Orji Kalu; Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello and Ebonyi State governor David Umahi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.